Mesaba Country Club
(218) 262-2851
Pro Shop (218) 263-4826
415 E. 51st St.
Hibbing, Mn 55746
Mesaba Country Club cordially invites you to participate in the
2019 Northwest Invitational Golf Tournament
The Northwest was established in 1928, making it one of the oldest reigning match play golf tournaments in Minnesota.   The Northwest has a rich history of golf tradition and past champions.

Our past tournament champions have comprised some of the finest players in the State of Minnesota and golfers from various regions of the United States, including former Tour Professionals & numerous State Champions.

Come see and hang out with NBA Legend and Hall of Famer Kevin McHale, who says that "the Northwest is his favorite Minnesota golf tournament of the year".   The event also copmprises golfers from all ability levels so everyone will be competitive in their respective flights.  The field is limited to the first 200 paid golfers so be sure to get your applications in early to guarantee you will get in.

In 2005 the Northwest Invitational lost it's longtime Tournament director Vern Fryklund with his passing the previous winter. Vern served with dedication and devotion for over thirty plus years.

Vern forged many close friendships over the years and he always looked forward to each Northwest as a chance to meet his long time friends.

In 2005 the Northwest Invitational was officially  renamed to the "Vern Fryklund Northwest Invitational" as a lasting memorial and tribute to our beloved director.
2019 Northwest

The  92nd  Annual Vern Fryklund Northwest Invitational Golf Tournament promises to provide another year of excellent competition for amateur golfers at one of Northern Minnesota's best golf courses.

The 2019 Northwest golf tournament will be held Friday, August 30th  through Monday, Sept. 2nd. 

The event starts out with a Thursday practice round followed by a qualifying round scheduled for Friday, August 30th,  followed by three days of match play competition.  The field is cut in half after Sundays round.


Senior Champion
Pat Klaers
2019 Champion
Dave Carothers
Super Senior Champion
Bob Kimmes

Senior Medalist
Steve LaFreniere
t070217 --- Clint Austin --- 070317.S.DNT.GOLF.C01 --- Gary Carlson of Duluth tees off during the Bill Law Nemadji Invitational Sunday in Superior. Carlson won the two-day tournament. (Clint Austin /
Gary Carlson
Super Senior Medalist
Jim Anderson

Match Play
Topher Baron
Buffalo Open
One Club Champs
Jeff Stimac - Shane Eastman
Sanibel Island Florida
Congratulations to
Cory Rowland
Winner of the 2018
Northwest Putting
Tourney and a weeks stay
on Sanibel Island, Fl.

RV & Camping Available for Tournament Week.
 Tournament Committee
Don Foster  -  Jeff Price   - Mike White
Mark Thune  -  Jeff Thune  -  Jeff Shapiro  
Jon Katalinch - Tournament Chairman
Gary Yeager - Tournament Director
The Northwest - Minnesota's Premier Amateur Golf Tournament